2013 Biotechnology & Standards Conference Panelist: Raymond Cypess

Raymond Cypess
Chairman, President & CEO, ATCC Global

Dr. Cypess is currently Chairman, President and CEO of ATCC Global in Manassas, Virginia, where for the past 20 years he has demonstrated the ability to apply business acumen, fiscal responsibility and innovative approaches to the management of a non-profit/profit corporate structure. He is also Chairman of the BioNexus Foundation and the architect of the new Global Biological Standards Institute (GBSI). He holds a D.V.M. from the University of Illinois and a Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina.

Dr. Cypess came to ATCC from the University of Tennessee, Memphis, in 1993. He was Dean of the College of Graduate Health Sciences, as well as Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and Comparative Medicine, and Vice Provost for Research and Research Training, winning the UT Memphis College of Medicine Outstanding Teacher Award for the years 1989-1993. He has been an Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Microbiology at the University of Pittsburgh School of Public Health, and Professor and Chairman at the New York State College of Veterinary Medicine.

In the course of his extensive professional career, Dr. Cypess participated on NIAID scientific review boards and various NIH Study Sections and served on several editorial boards. He is the author of more than 75 chapters, reviews, and journal articles, a fellow in the Infectious Disease Society, and a member of the American Epidemiology Society. At ATCC, he has served as principal investigator on numerous grants and contracts, including the MR4 (The Malaria Research & Reference Reagent Resource Center), and the BEI (Biodefense & Emerging Infectious Research Resources Repository) from the NIAID. Dr. Cypess was also the architect of the multi-million dollar IRR (Influenza and Reagents and Resources) contract award and renewal from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, CDC. He has served on boards of NYSE and NASDAG corporations, as well as Director and Treasurer of the Virginia Biotechnology Authority, Advisor to Massachusetts Life Science Center, and on the Executive Board of the Virginia Biotechnology Association.