Strategy and Policy Council


  • Burt Adelman, MD, CBI Distinguished Fellow, MIT; Member of the Hematology/Oncology Division of the Department of Medicine, Brigham & Women’s Hospital; former Biogen-Idec Executive VP for Portfolio Strategy
  • Tenley Albright, MD, Director, Visiting Scientist, Collaborative Initiatives, MIT
  • Ernst Berndt, PhD, Louis E. Seley Professor of Applied Economics, MIT Sloan School of Management Science
  • Claude R. Canizares, PhD, VP for Research and Associate Provost, MIT (Council Chair)
  • Charles Cooney, PhD, Robert T. Haslam Professor, MIT Department of Chemical Engineering; Faculty Director Deshpande Center for Technological Innovation
  • Victor J. Dzau, MD, Chancellor of Health Affairs, President & CEO, Duke University Health System, Duke University
  • Gigi Hirsch, MD, Executive Director, Center for Biomedical Innovation, MIT
  • GK Raju, PhD, CBI Distinguished Fellow, MIT; Chairman & CEO, Light Pharma
  • Wayne Rosenkrans, PhD, CBI Distinguished Fellow, MIT; President and Chair of Personalized Medicine Coalition; Former Business Strategy Director, External Scientific Affairs, AstraZeneca
  • Phillip A. Sharp, PhD, Institute Professor, MIT; Nobel Laureate
  • Anthony Sinskey, ScD, Faculty Director, CBI; Professor of Biology and Health Sciences and Technology, MIT
  • Steven R. Tannenbaum, PhD, Underwood-Prescott Professor of Toxicology and Chemistry, MIT


Government and Other

  • Mark McClellan, MD, PhD, Director, Engelberg Center for Health Care Reform, Brookings Institution
  • Sheila D. Walcoff, JD, Founding Principal, Goldbug Strategies LLC; Former FDA Associate Commissioner & Science/Public Health Counselor to the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS)
  • Janet Woodcock, MD, Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, Food and Drug Administration (FDA)



  • John J. Alam, MD, Head, Therapeutic Strategic Unit-Aging, sanofi
  • G. Steven Burrill, CEO, Burrill & Company
  • Fred Frank, Vice Chairman, Peter J. Solomon Company
  • Evian Gordon, PhD, MBBch, Chairman and CEO, Brain Resource Company
  • Robert Mulroy, MPPM, President and CEO, Merrimack Pharmaceuticals
  • Garry Neil, MD, Corporate Vice President, Office of Science & Technology, Johnson & Johnson
  • Steven Paul, MD, Former Executive VP, Science and Technology and President, Lilly Research Laboratories, Lilly and Company
  • Matthew Strobeck, PhD, Senior Security Analyst, Westfield Capital Management
  • Mark Trusheim, President, Co-Bio Consulting, LLC; Visiting Scientist at the MIT Sloan School of Management